HISTORY of BLUE MOSQUE

 

The blue mosque is a famouse historic mosque in Tabriz, Iran. constructed upon the order of Jahan Shah, the ruler of kara koyunlu.

 

Based on an inscription on the mosque's portal the construction ended in 1465. The original plan  was a complex of several buildings, including school. library, khanghah, bathrooms, and... which unfortunately no longer exist. The main feathure of this great monument is its unique architecture and amazing tile works. Using inlay tiles withe detailed patterns, alongside brick works is considered as a signature and a stunning amazement. Both  inner and outer sides of the building were covered with this form of art and  in the result of this beauty and greatnEss it was titled firouzeh islam (Islam's turquoise).

 

In the body of this magnifience inscription a name was engraved "Nemat allah ebn mohamad al bavab"  who is supposed to be one of the well known and most famous calligraphist which used to be covered with gold, with "jahanshah" name. The mosque also used to have two tall and slim minarets in the west and right side of north wing. On top of the shabestan's etntrance door, a verse is written in persian withe thuluth ( script variety of islamic calligraphy).

 

The big shabestan is surrounded by porches from three sides and above is a 17 diameter two shelled dome. The smaller shabestan was used as a private palce for king and royal family and was located in the southern wing. Walls were covered with marble stomes designed withe engraved lines of quran in tuluth calligraphy. Tiles are all in ultramarine blue and mostly hexagonal shaped, all parts of ceiling were cevered with a thin gold layer and the floor was probably covered with marble stone. inlaid tiles had an amazing variety in pattern and technique such as geometrical Girish tiles with arabesque deisgns all samples of extraordinary skills and elegant beauty. Tomb of Jahanshah king and his wife was at the end of smaller shabestan in cellar.

 

The mosque was severely damaged in an earthquake in 1779, leaving only the iwan (entrance hall) with a wall and its base. Furing a long time after earthQuake till the start of reconcrucing when the mosque was in ruins, main entrance door and most of marble stones were plundered. in 1931 it was listed as a national heritage site. reconstruction began in 1973 by the late Reza Memaran Benam under the supervision of iranian Minisistry of Culture. however, the tiling is still incomplete. And in recent years yard some of the internal parts were also repaired.

 

 

 


persons

 

Amir Sanajou

Guide & researcher of Blue Mosque

(Conservator & Archaeometrist)

 

Sanajou official Website

 

امیر ثناجو، مسجد کبود، تبریز، باستان سنج

 ...........................................................................................................................................................

 

 Mehrdad Moharrampour

Blue Mosque administrator

(Archaeologist)

 

 ...........................................................................................................................................................

 

 

Saeed Moslehi

Blue Mosque prior administrator

(Archaeologist, Poet & Calligrapher)

 

سعید مصلحی، مسجد کبود، شاعر و ادیب تبریزی

 

 

 

visit Blue Mosque

• The Museum is open 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. every day.

 

• Admission: 150.000 RLs (about 3.5 € for one person)

contact us

• Send your photos and memories of blue mosque for publishing in the website !

 

• Please contac us on telegram with ID: alefdad

 

our email: info@sanajou.ir

 

Best Rigards

 

• Website designer & admin: Amir Sanajou

 

Template Design:Dima Group